A Beer that won’t bleed

People wrongly think in the news business our motto is “If it bleeds, it leads.” I’ve worked in half a dozen newsrooms over more than 30 years and I’ve never heard that. I have learned recently, though, that in one country it would be tragic news for your beer to bleed. That would be Guinness beer.

I took a tour of the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin during a recent vacation. I drank more beer in my two weeks in the UK than I have in the last six months. Something about the place, the pubs, the beer. The weather? Who knows. Our cabbie told us the pubs in Dublin “open at 6:30 in the morning and close when you stumble out.” He also told us when it comes to beer, it’s always a good idea to “have another scoop.” I’m assuming he was talking about Guinness. It’s the closest I can imagine to a beer milkshake.

We paid extra to get the class in how to properly pour a Guinness. Let’s just say I’m very disappointed by what I’ve seen back home. You don’t want this beer to bleed. That’s what happens when the head drips down the outside of the glass. I know now how to prevent bleeding. It’s sort of like the Irish version of the Red Cross.

BTW, Guinness used to be the biggest employer in Dublin, Ireland. Now it’s Google. You can look it up.

The 9000-year lease Arthur Guinness signed to makes sure he had access to fresh water. Smart guy.
The 9000-year lease Arthur Guinness signed to makes sure he had access to fresh water. Smart guy.

View from the Gravity Bar at the top of the Guinness Storehouse. Best view of Dublin in town. View from the Gravity Bar at the top of the Guinness Storehouse. Best view of Dublin in town.

My pouring lesson.
My pouring lesson.
The warning speaks volumes about how people in Ireland view their alcohol.
The warning speaks volumes about how people in Ireland view their alcohol.
My wife Joan is not a beer drinker. But she was a great cheerleader!
My wife Joan is not a beer drinker. But she was a great cheerleader!

Leave a Reply

